Eva Tvrdá

A Czech author who lives and writes in Czech Silesia.


Pandora’s Box (2015)
A novella about roots which are discovered by contemporary heroes who come to realize that family is very important but not more than confidence and love. Pandora’s Box a sequel to the novella Heritage (2005).

Silesian Trilogy: 

Heritage (2005, 2007, 2010)
A novella about the “melting pot” in Silesian region Hlučínsko set in the period from 1930 to 2000.

Through the Cherry Avenue (2008, 2011)
A novel describing the atmosphere of Silesian village left abandoned after the displacement of the majority of its population.

Windows to the Room (2010)
A triptych about the conflict between the faith and atheism in the Central Europe in the 20th century.

Discreet Charm of Silesia (2009)
The book depicts briefly the evolution of a part of Silesia from the prehistorical period of Devon to September 2009. The history is shown through the fictional texts, extracts from chronicles and illustrative photographs. 

Playful Stories (2007, 2011)
Very short stories from nowadays with features of black humor.

Angels, charts and dreams (2013)
The collection of short stories from 2012-2013.

Viva la Revolución? (2011)
A prose from post-revolution Cuba inspired by young expert from Czechoslovakia sojourn in Cuba. The part of book contains the life story of Che Guevara clear of the Che Guevara legends.

Distance (1996)
The first work set in the city of Ostrava.